Tags

,

​The night’s precipitation
accumulated on the roof,
depended from the eaves.
Rows of glass teeth
sparkling in the morning sun.
Clear, gleaming smile
of the biting cold that crept
in with the quiet sleet
encasing shrubs and trees,
making candy-coated
branches and leaves.
Blanketing the scenery in
cellophane noodles
that I want to toss in a bowl
with soy sauce and sesame seed oil,
slurp them from chopsticks cold.
But my lips are turning blue,
toes and fingertips getting numb,
and my teeth are chattering too.
I’ll go sit in the window seat
and thaw out by the fire.
Maybe some hot cocoa with
petite marshmallows to sip.
Watch the solar fire
melt my glass menagerie
drip by drip.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved

Snow is a rarity in North Central Texas, Ice Storms only slightly less so. Driving on ice is like watching a camel try to rollerskate. Aside from downed power lines, weighted with the ice, it’s quite picturesque.

Here are some shots I took with my iPhone a few years ago.


