I seem to be channeling some Otis Redding lately, sans the quality, that is. Here’s another poem/Country ballad that bounced into my head this morning.

​They always used to tell me.
“Be careful what you wish for.”
But I’d just smile at them, 
and gently shake my head.

“Don’t ever let anyone be
the only thing that matters.”
I would just point to my heart
and this is what I said:

“She moves me like the wind.
She calms like a summer breeze.
She takes me over mountains,
and then she brings me to my knees.”

“You’re asking for a heartbreak.”
I said, “I’m asking for it all.”
“You know that the higher you fly,
the farther you have to fall.”
“I said, “You just don’t know
what it means that she’s enough.
She can’t break my heart
it’s labeled, This Side Up.”

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved

The Daily Post Prompt: Careful

