This is a rewrite of a poem that is titled, World of Connected Souls, first published in my second book, My Angel, My Muse.

☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯☯

“Come away with me,”
I said.
Your shoulders slumped,
you turned your head.
Like a reluctant witness.
“Come away,
anywhere with you will be home.”
No more days alone.
Wondering where you went, how far.
Wondering how you are.
The days drag
as I struggle to understand
what it all meant,
the universe’s intent.
To lead me to you,
and then away …
I confess,
I often feel phantoms
of your gentle caress.
In this world
of connected souls,
unaware of connections,
thus out of control.
A sense that something
not quite right,
is always at my door.
A sense that life
has a higher purpose
that I was meant for.
Slapped by reality
I remain ever in the present.
Marching mundanely
to muster at ennui,
evermore.
To slip back
into somnolent rhythms,
the hum of daily chores.
Languishing in the fog
that cloaks the fertile ground.
Sneaked in silently
in the predawn darkness.
Its heaviness lingers
till the sun comes ’round.
The days pass
in slow motion,
the fog obscures,
floats
above the grass
condenses
on my window glass.
I look out
seeing only motion, only motion.
The clarity of the vision,
in my mind’s eye, fades.
I wonder how much time
I am left to know you.
Learn the depth
of your tender loving ways.
I want to scream,
“Tell me what to do!”
But you have a responsibility
to yourself.
I have things to do
myself.
Still, I wonder
how much time is left.
manumission from life
bereft.
In this world
of connected souls
unaware of connections,
thus out of control.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved

