Tags

,

I thought that since my poetry opened the #PoetsforPeace collaboration I would offer this rondeau to close it. Something about the form always lends gravitas, to my mind.

Please let me know what you think by answering in the poll below. I am not ego driven, but wanted to end the collaboration on a strong note.  You tell me if this has missed the mark or not. Thank you.


On battlefields and streets where ghosts have slept,
funeral homes where grieving mothers wept,
prematurely, the beating heart stilled.
No place for the faithless or weak willed.
From our lives loved ones are being swept.

The stigmata of promises not kept.
Conclusions to which fearful minds leapt.
By our ignorance we are being killed.
On battlefields and streets.

We cry out for justice for the ceased breaths.
Pointing fingers of blame, our spirits bereft.
Without understanding, hatred is distilled.
Contrary to our souls, born love filled.
Conflicted with ourselves, but there is hope yet.
On battlefields and streets.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved

