Listening to nearby conversations,
not eavesdropping purposefully, but yeah.
I keep hearing the Pontifications,
the egos dining on their own excess.

They never seem to get full of themselves.
The sanctimony and self-righteousness
spilling onto my plate of awareness,
spoiling my appetite for company.

I’m confused by the absolutism,
knowing all to be in a constant flux.
Yet the “think-they-know-it-alls” speak as if
this existence is easily defined.

Pointing fingers at the perpetrators.
Unaware someone points at them as well.
An endless buffet of blame and deny,
offered for our reluctant consumption.

I will have to pass on this foul menu.
Sate my hunger on Hors d’Oeuvres of the truth.
Savor the diversity of reason,
accept that things may appear differently
to another, based on their paradigm.

I can sip the cool apéritif,
of open mindedness in a clear glass.
I will toast, in welcome, kindred spirits,
aware that their perspectives are merely …
situational.
~
M. Zane McClellan
~

Copyright 2014
All rights reserved

