Tags

, ,

​Below is my submission to The Daily Post ‘s Discover Challenge prompt: The Things We Leave Behind

While the prompt called for a thing, I opted for memories, difficult to be left behind, and sometimes better left.

Please show your love, if you have any, for the piece with a like or a comment. Both are appreciated, as is your taking the time to read. Thanks.

Rummaged Recollections

Memories dusty and cobwebbed,
pulled from the superfluous trunk,
in the dark, forbidding corner
of the attic of my mind.
With just a huff of fresh breath,
or a buffing on my mental sleeve,
some shine like new,
leaving me breathless.
Others cling to the shadows,
magnets for potential pain.
Better I leave them alone to rot.
Bright things have sharp edges.
~
M. Zane McClellan
~
Copyright 2014
All rights reserved
The Daily Post Discover Challenge: The Things We Leave Behind

