Go back to your life now,
there’s nothing here left to see.
Nothing but a chalk outline
where my heart used to be.

You said you were waiting for him,
the one you were always meant for.
One to love you the way you need,
someone you could trust and adore.

You said you knew I was the key,
answer to your heart and more,
who would make you happy forever,
because isn’t that what love is for?

Ease back into your life now,
ease back into your space.
Leave me with fading memories,
leave me with just this trace.

There’s nothing here left of me,
no reason to stick around.
Go quietly back to your garden.
Go quietly back to your fertile ground.

You said you were waiting for him,
but that’s not who I was meant to be.
Maybe someday you’ll find him,
you’ll just have to wait and see.

No, no one will ever replace you,
you are truly one of a kind.
I’ll just hold to what is left me
and slowly go out of my mind.

Go back to your search now.
Go back to trying to find him.
I am just a whisper from the past now,
I am love floating away on the wind.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved

