I want to
know you,
not
because you
want to be
known,
but because
I want you
to know me,
the real me,
my
interiority.
My knowing
you completely
insists on
reciprocity.

I hear you,
and all
that you say,
not just
the what,
but
the way.

Your rhythms
feed the hunger
my ears have
for your voice.
your lips,
your tongue,
your throat,
your music,
my one
and only
choice.

My heart
salivates for
your beats,
your beats,
your beats.
Up-tempo
to my
blue conceits.

I anticipa …
the feel,
the depth,
of your pause,
the slight
hesi—tation
each time
you dare
to trust.
The cause?

Denial
of the
obvious,
Love,
the metaphysical.
Fear
that you may be
the object,
not the subject,
fear
that I am typical.
Afraid
that to take
that leap
will lead to
disappointment,
disillusions
deep.
To be beguiled
by the promises
you’re sure
that I can’t
keep.

I want to
know you
like the road home,
each twist and
every curve.
Which is why
I want you
to know me,
my authenticity,
so I can
love you
genuinely,
with all the
preciousness
you deserve.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright © 2015
All rights reserved

