Tags

,

I was nearly forced to concede defeat in today’s challenge. The last of this National Poetry Month, Writer’s Digest challenge two-fers is a doozy.

1. Matter
2. Antimatter

I was inclined to respond tangentially and comment on the current events protesting the frighteningly all too frequent killing of African-American men here in the U.S. Not a break in the rules by any means since the prompts are only guidelines. This paragraph will serve as my commentary on that subject for the time being.
Instead I read a few papers on Matter and Antimatter and when I was done scratching my head, wrote the following. I may never watch The Big Bang Theory again.

Here is my humble attempt at a poem about Matter, with a cameo appearance from its counterpart, Antimatter:

Matter of Fact?

Matter,
theoretical
and diverse,
building blocks
of the universe.
Matter,
with distinctions
that sound perverse,
Normal, Dark, Strange,
Exotic and Degenerate.
Disappearing
from our observation
only to regenerate.
Matter,
we perceive
via peripheral senses
implications then inferred
from behaviors (or lack thereof)
consequences,
then interpret with
Mind
(another theoretical construct).
All occurring
in stellar proportions.
As
Antimatter
seeking symmetry,
collides in annihilation,
creating distortions,
waves of energy
that flow everywhere,
everywhere …

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright 2015
All rights reserved

