Tags

,

Well the prompts for the Poem A Day challenge get curiouser and curiouser. Robert Lee Brewer, Poetry editor and blogger for Poetic Asides challenges us thusly today:

For today’s prompt, take a word or two invented by William Shakespeare, make it the title of your poem, and write your poem. Click here for a link to some words coined by Shakespeare, who was baptized on this date in 1564. If the link doesn’t work, here are a few: advertising, bloodstained, critic, dwindle, eyeball, hobnob, luggage, radiance, and zany. He invented more than 1,700!

I was tempted to go with Zany and make it autobiographical, but that was too easy. Instead I submitted the following as my attempt

Besmirch

Be not so hasty to judge me,
my reputation to besmirch.
Though found outside of your canon,
perhaps frowned upon by your church.

To paraphrase the noble Bard,
more exists in heaven and hell,
than are dreamt of by the prophets.
Salvation found in living well.

Don’t quote to me holy scriptures.
Show me your light by example.
I choose a path spiritual,
any wisdom found I sample.

I will not disdain your beliefs,
just ask that you respect others,
and love the earth’s inhabitants,
As if they’re sisters and brothers.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright 2015
All rights reserved

