Tags

,

Today’s Writer’s Digest challenge calls for an “across the sea” poem. Details can be found here as well as the opportunity to share your own take on this prompt.

Middle Passage Blues

My spirit lies across the sea
where the Middle Passage began,
that stole my very dignity,
stole me away from Motherland.

My spirit lies across the sea,
survival the fruit of my toil.
We chattel without liberty,
we plant and sow the Master’s soil.

My spirit lies across the sea.
my heart aching for my return.
So barely clothed in winter freeze,
in the summer heat my skin burns.

My spirit lies across the sea
my people subjected to whips.
Our women raped repeatedly,
the subject of our captor’s quips.

My spirit lies across the sea,
my body can endure, you see.
Although I suffer on my knees,
my soul goes on eternally.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright 2015
All rights reserved

