Tags

,

As previously confessed, prompts seem to work counter to my poetic creativity. Not always, but I have struggled with finding inspiration in them this National Poetry Month. Rather than submit a poem I don’t particularly care for, I am submitting another old fav of mine.

Today’s PAD Challenge calls for a poem about a moment, this is about a moment that is both amusing and not. I hope that you like it.

Just A Moment

I used to hate this thing for its ticking,
and now I hate it for its lack.
When I look at its red eyes malevolently,
I can swear that it’s looking back. 
I’ve been stuck in this room for hours,
or maybe it’s even been days. 
The nurse is the only one who tells me a thing,
“Just a moment” is all that she says. 
She has too many patients,
and hasn’t enough time for me. 
I decided to pull out this catheter
and go to the front desk to plead. 
The buzzers and bells started conniptions,
I thought I was being besieged. 
When the doctor abruptly ripped back the curtain, 
I was more than a little relieved. 
“Thank goodness,” I said to the doctor.
“Can you tell me what’s going on?”
Removing his glasses, pinching the bridge of his nose,
it seemed I had done something wrong. 
He took a deep breath then sighed.
Without a word he eased me back down.
Shaking his head from side to side tsking,
he was wearing that ritual frown. 
I started to ask more questions,
which he raised his hand to forestall.
My jaw dropped to hang open as he said,
“just a moment,” then went out to the hall.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright 2014
All rights reserved

