Tags

,

Take a look on Robert Brewer’s blog, Poetic Asides, for an intriguing opportunity, the Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition. There are two poetry categories, rhyming and not. With  $ 5K prize, editor & agent support, and a one on one interview in Writer’s Digest it is certainly worth taking a shot. A May 4, 2015 deadline looms. One caveat, there are entry fees. Details here.

Today’s PAD Challenge prompt is:

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “My (blank), the (blank),” replace the blanks with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles include: “My Dentist, the Torture Expert,” “My Lunch, the Thing I Got Out of the Vending Machine,” “My Father, the Comedian,” or “My Life, the Punchline.”

I have no idea why these prompts bring out the Smart Aleck in me, not that that’s hard to do, but here is my playful attempt:

My Burger, the Tart

I have always craved her,
tantalizing and rare.
Soft buns just the right size,
aroma I relish.

Patty fed my hunger,
she gave me a good taste.
I thought we had something
so unique and special.

Only to discover
her sad McDouble life.
Loved by several billion
a life of In N Out.

Now I am through with her,
her smokin’ hot flavors.
Because in the long run
she was no good for me.

M. Zane McClellan

