Tags

,

This seventh day of National Poetry month, the Writer’s Digest PAD (Poem A Day) challenge is the first “Two-fer,” Tuesday prompt:

1. Write a love poem. Yeah, I said a love poem, or, if you don’t like that option…
2. Write an anti-love poem. I know there are some haters out there; go ahead and hate on love and/or love poems if that’s your thing.

Where Throes, the Heart

Oh this heartrending affliction,
from which there is no respite.
Incessant pressure in my chest,
and I would have none of it.

Alas, there is no choice in this,
no choice, and there is no free will.
Stubborn heart doth as it pleases,
an aching I would surely still.

Longing for unobtainables,
an exercise most futile.
This love, become a stern lecture,
harsh lesson for its pupil.

For surely this love will end me,
melt into dissolution.
Although counterintuitive,
surrender, my only solution.

My heart will have its way, indeed,
ever loving with each beat.
At fevers pitch, the mighty throes,
passion its only conceit.

Where has the  Professor gone?
Love is never pragmatic.
A love for which my brain confounds,
already enigmatic.

M. Zane McClellan

Copyright 2015
All rights reserved

